Perfect Summer Day

Standard

Summer, hands down, is my favorite season.  In the morning, it is temperate enough to fit in an outside workout.  The afternoons are filled with sun and heat and then the evenings are warm enough to sit out on the deck until well after the sun goes down.  Once it hits the super hot here, all you hear are the complaints but I don’t mind the heat.  It’s summer, if it wasn’t hot and humid, it just wouldn’t seem right.

Growing up in Maryland, I have experienced seasons my whole life.  While, spring and fall tend to be the favorites for most here, summer always has and will have a special place in my heart.  And, cold, non-snowy, nasty winter…that is another post for another day.

When I think summer, I think pool days, crabs, summer brews, and sitting outside until the sun goes down.  That, to me, is the perfect summer day.  Luckily, this weekend, we got to have just that.

3

B and I have been trying to find a time to go to the pool all summer.  Each time we would think the day was here, it would rain, or we would be busy.  Finally, this past weekend the weather stars aligned with our free afternoon and we were able to go and people watch at a packed pool for a few hours.  We probably spent equal time in and out of the pool because it was pretty hot, but it was a nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

1

After drinking a few new (to us) summer brews at a friends house, we also got our crab fill for the summer.  You can’t go an entire Maryland summer without picking a few crabs.  As much as I love them, I usually only last about 2-3 crabs before I get tired of picking and just eat the sides.  Last night the hush puppies and corn were definitely calling my name.

2

Hopefully this sunny weather decides to stick around!

What is your favorite summer tradition? Is summer your favorite season as well? 

 

Leave a Reply

